International Loran Association Minutes, 137th Board of Directors Meeting Salon Historique Pavillon Henry IV St Germain-en-Laye, France October 10, 2001

1. Call to Order: The meeting was called to order by President John Beukers at 18:10 on October 10, 2001.

2. Present: Bob Lilley, Charles Schue, James Doherty, Linn Roth, Langhorne Bond, William Roland, Nicholas Ward, Terje Jørgensen, David Last, Durk van Willigen, John Beukers. **Proxy:** John Beukers holds Martin Poppe's proxy. **Observer:** Gerard Offermans.

A quorum was determined to be present.

Mr. Beukers thanked the board members for their help during 2001 convention, and announced Board members for 2002, including two of the three appointed members:

There are 17 total slots on the Board		Term expires	
President - John Beukers	2002		
Past-President- Linn Roth	2002		
Elected Directors (three year terms) - (John Beukers)	2002		
- Langhorne Bond			2004
- James Doherty			2004
- Terje Jorgensen		2003	
- Bob Lilley		2003	
- David Last	2002		
- Nick Ward	2002		
- Marty Poppe			2004
- Capt. Tom Rice			2004
- Bill Roland		2003	
- Charles Schue (one year for J. Beukers)	2002		
- Erik Johannessen	2002		
- Durk van Willigen		2003	

2001 Appointed Directors (1-year terms)

- Christian Forst	2002
- Margot Brown	2002
- (vacant)	2002

3. Approval of the Agenda: The agenda was APPROVED by unanimous agreement.

4. Approval of minutes of the 136th Board Meeting: Mr. Bond moved approval of the minutes; Mr. Schue seconded, and the minutes were APPROVED by voice vote.

5. 2002 Convention: The Washington, DC venue for the 2002 convention was confirmed by Mr. Beukers, and the members of the search committee to set up the Convention Committee were named: James Doherty, chair

Charles Schue and William Roland will assist Langhorne Bond is listed as an "associate member" of the committee Ellen and Bob Lilley also assist, with resources of the ILA Operations Center

6. Operations Center

Mr. Beukers accepted a motion from Mr. Roland and a second from Mr. Bond. The continuation of the Operations Center "as is" for another year was APPROVED by voice vote, Bob Lilley abstaining.

7. Committees

Mr. Beukers suggested committees remain the same wherever possible, in the interest of simplicity.

Elections: Mr. Doherty agreed to chair, with Bob Lilley, Chuck Schue and Durk van Willigen as members.

Technology Committee: David Last inquired about guidance: Isn't political contact more important at this point? Terje Jørgensen offered that perhaps the real technical issue relates to non-interference with legacy users as we go to Loran-C data transmission of some description.

GAUSS: In the meeting to be held later this week, the principal work item is to request a specification for the U.S. Loran Data Channel, for GAUSS / ITU submission. David Last mentioned that there is no friction there, as a specification is indeed the goal of the US team. It will take time.

Awards: Mr. Roland requested help and additional committee members for next year. Prof. Last suggested the committee be made up of people not so actively practicing and presenting. Mr. Schue indicated that "involved" committee members could recuse themselves if a conflict arises. The Secretary will send a member list to Mr. Roland for his committee member search.

There was general agreement that Terje Jørgensen would be a distinguished "alumnus reviewer" for the Awards Committee.

The committee at present consists of Mr. Roland, Dr. van Willigen and Mr. Jørgensen

Congressional Liaison: - Linn Roth, Langhorne Bond.

8. Other Business:

9. Resolution: Board suggests a small group put next year's resolution together and circulate to the Board for approval. There will not be a general session at the 2002 convention to wordsmith the resolution.

10. Adjourn: Mr. Roland moved and Mr. Doherty seconded. The meeting was adjourned at 18:40.