## Minutes of First Meeting: - May 16, 1972

An organizing meeting was convened at 10:00 A.M. at the U.S.C.G. Officers Club, Governors Island, N.Y. The following were invited by Mr. L. Higginbotham.\*

- \* Mr. Wm. Becker USAF
  - Mr. Thomas Daniels US Army
- \* Mr. Walter Dean Magnavox
- \* Mr. Robert Doherty Institute for Telecommunication Sciences
  Mr. Ed Durbin Teledyne
- \* Mr. Wm. G. Fitzsimmons ITT
- \* Mr. Joseph Parini Lear Siegler
- \* Mr. Claude Pasquier Litcom
- \* Cmdr. Wm. Roland USCG
- \* Mr. James Van Etten Avionics Div. ITT
- \* Mr. R. Frank

Those marked with an asterisk attended. The others had indicated an interest in the organization, but could not attend.

There was a general discussion of the scope of the proposed organization. It was decided by concensus that the field of Loran (of all varieties) was of suitable size and that "radio navigation" or even "hyperbolic navigation" were of too large a scope for a new organization.

After some discussion it was agreed by concensus that The Wild Goose Association" was a suitable name, subject to checking that the name was not already in use by another organization. Mr. W. Fitzsimmons agreed to make such a check.

A drawing of a proposed emblem was presented by Mr. Fitzsimmons, and agreed to by concensus. The seal consists of a Goose in flight over a field of hyperbolic lines.

A preliminary draft of a proposed Constitution and Bylaws were presented by Mr. Higginbotham, and formed the subject of several hours discussion, wherein many changes were agreed to by those present, by voice vote on individual sections. A revised document incorporating the changes will be prepared.

Preliminary formats for Charter and Membership Certificates were presented by Mr. Fitzsimmons and approved by those present.

Mr. Higginbotham was selected as first president by acclamation; and he then accepted volunteers for the remaining positions. The final list of officers and committee chairmen is as follows:

President; L. Higgenbotham

Vice-President; C. Pasquier Treasurer: W. Rolland

Membership Committee: W. Dean

Historical Committee: R. Doherty Publicity Committee: J. Parini

Constitution, Bylaws and Incorporation Committee: J. VanEtten

Nomination and Election Committee: W. Becker

\*Convention Committee: W. Fitzsimmons

Additional Directors: E. Durbin, T. Daniels, plus two more to be selected.

\* (14th director in lieu of a past president).

R. Frank agreed to solicit Mr. W. P. Frantz and Winslow Palmer as possible directors.

It was agreed that the next meeting will be held in June at ESD, Bedford, Mass.

The meeting adjourned at about 4:00 P.M.

Respectfully submitted.

R.F. Frank-Secretary

## Wild Goose Association:

## Minutes of First Meeting: - May 16, 1972

An organizing meeting was convened at 10:00 A.M. at the U.S.C.G. Officers Club, Governors Island, N.Y. The following were invited by Mr. L. Higginbotham.\*

- \* Mr. Wm. Becker USAF Mr. Thomas Daniels - US Army
- \* Mr. Walter Dean Magnavox
- \* Mr. Robert Doherty Institute for Telecommunication Sciences Mr. Ed Durbin Teledyne
- \* Mr. Wm. G. Fitzsimmons ITT
- \* Mr. Joseph Parini Lear Siegler
- \* Mr. Claude Pasquier Litcom
- \* Cmdr. Wm. Roland USCG
- \* Mr. James Van Etten Avionics Div. ITT Mr. L. Frank - Sterry

Those marked with an asteresk attended. The others had indicated an interest in the organization, but could not attend.

There was a general discussion of the scope of the proposed organization. It was decided by concensus that the field of Loran (of all varieties) was of suitable size and that "radio navigation" or even "hyperbolic navigation" were of too large a scope for a new organization.

After some discussion it was agreed by concensus that "West Wild Goose Association" was a suitable name, subject to checking that the name was not already in use by another organization. Mr. W. Fitzsimmons agreed to make such a check.

A drawing of a proposed emblem was presented by Mr. Fitzsimmons, and agreed to by concensus. The seal consists of a Goose in flight over a field of hyperbolic lines.

A preliminary draft of a proposed Constitution and Bylaws were presented by Mr. Higginbotham, and formed the subject of several hours discussion, wherein many changes were agreed to by those present, by voice vote on individual sections. A revised document incorporating the changes will be prepared.

Preliminary formats for Charter and Membership Certificates were presented by Mr. Fitzsimmons and approved by those present.

Mr. Higginbotham was selected as first president by acclamation; and he then accepted volunteers for the remaining positions. The final list of officers and committee chairmen is as follows:

President: L. Higgenbotham Vice-President: C. Pasquier Secretary: R. Frank

Membership Committee: W. Dean

Historical Committee: R. Doherty

Publicity Committee: J. Parini

Constitution, Bylaws and Incorporation Committee: J. VanEtten

Nomination and Election Committee: W. Becker

\*Convention Committee: W. Fitzsimmons

Additional Directors: E. Durbin, T. Daniels, plus two more to be selected.

\* (19th director in liest of a past president).

R. Frank agreed to solicit Mr. W. P. Frantz and Winslow Palmer as possible directors.

It was agreed that the next meeting will be held in June at ESD, Bedford, Mass.

The meeting adjourned at about 4:00 P.M.

Respectfully submitted,

R.F. Frank-Secretary

" requer